The Pan-African Parliament (PAP) on Wednesday held a successful election which saw the Zimbabwean Member of Parliament (MP), Fortune Charumbira, winning the one-horse race to become the President of the continent’s legislative assembly.

The Majority Chief Whip of Ghana’s Parliament, Frank Annoh-Dompreh, who represented the Western African bloc, led the five-member ad hoc Election Committee of the PAP to supervise the election.

Other members of the Election Committee are Janet Kabile (Mme) (DRC) – Central Africa, Thembekile Richard Majola (RSA) – Southern Africa, Stewart Madzayo (Kenya) Eastern Africa, and Fateh Boutbig (Algeria) Northern Africa.

The legislative arm of the African Union sat for an ordinary session at its headquarters in Midrand since the start of the week and Wednesday’s proceeding saw more than 200 delegates voting for the parliament’s bureau, including the president and two vice presidents.

Mr Annoh-Dompreh’s ad hoc committee, which was assisted in its deliberations by the Secretariat of the PAP, the AUC Officials and the Office of the Legal Counsel, was praised for the successful conduct of the election which produced Mr. Charumbira after 161 votes out of 203 ballots went into his favour.

Announcing the results of the election, Mr. Annoh-Dompreh indicated among other things that by Rule16 (3) of the Rules of Procedure, the Committee agreed to assist the Legal Counsel in organizing and presiding over the election of the President of the Pan African Parliament.

Charumbira’s bid for the presidency at the Pan African Parliament appeared to have been seamless after getting the backing of the southern and northern regions, and he is the first delegate from the southern bloc to take up the top seat.

He was elected unopposed as Malawian candidate Yeremiah Chihana’s nomination was canceled because it was not following the AU’s protocol.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Bagbin Constitutes Nine-Member Committee To Probe UniBank, UT Bank Collapse

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, has constituted a nine-member committee to…

Support Gov’t To Make Ghana A Mining Investment Hub – Samuel A. Jinapor

The Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Hon. Samuel A. Jinapor(MP) has…


Parliament of Ghana has today given an approval to Mr Ken Ofori-Atta…

Government Allocates GHS45.5 Million To Construct Constituency Offices For MPs

The government will provide an amount of GHS45.5 million this year for…