92 persons were sworn in on Thursday as assembly members and unit committee members of the La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal Assembly at forecourt of assembly offices at Madina in the Greater Accra Region.

The members who comprised of 15 elected assembly members and 6 govt appointees, as well as 71 unit members become eligible after winning their various seats during the December 27, 2019 district assembly polls.

The new municipal assembly and unit committee members were sworn in to office by Richard Delali Anku, a Madina court judge, who administered their oaths of office.

Deputy Foreign Affairs Minister, Charles Owiredu, who delivered the president’s speech on his behalf reminded the assembly of of the critical role they play and charged them to deliver on their mandate. He said govt has formulated a rural development policy in key sectors of the economy to ensure transformative change in the lives of Ghanaians.

He encouraged the newly sworn in assembly to improve on property rate and management in the municipality to increase internally generated funds for resources to improve the allowances of assembly members.

He called on the assembly to streamline building permits and their issuance to control the haphazard nature of uncontrolled structures in the municipality.

He called on the assembly to exploit areas to generate employment for the youth, calling on the assembly to work towards diversifying the agric sector to generate jobs.

Municipal Chief Executive of La Nkwantanang Madina Municpal Assembly, Jennifer said the success of every assembly is dependent of its members and called for their patriotic efforts.

She said the management of the assembly were revamping structures ta the zonal level to galvanize the grassroots and challenges the members to deal with the aspirations of the electorate.

She disclosed that the assembly has achieved significant milestones, which has put the assembly on a sound footing for greater achievements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Bagbin Constitutes Nine-Member Committee To Probe UniBank, UT Bank Collapse

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, has constituted a nine-member committee to…

Support Gov’t To Make Ghana A Mining Investment Hub – Samuel A. Jinapor

The Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Hon. Samuel A. Jinapor(MP) has…

We Will Make The World Know Allegations Levelled Against GES Not True- Bonaventure

Most Rev.John Bonaventure Kwofie, Catholic Metropolitan Archbishop of Accra has disclosed to…


Parliament of Ghana has today given an approval to Mr Ken Ofori-Atta…