The President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has sworn into office the newly inaugurated board of the Public Services Commission at a brief event on Wednesday, 17th May, 2023 at the Jubilee House in Accra.

This is in line with the dictates of Article 194 to 199 of the Constitution of the Republic, which specifies the membership and composition of the commission and with the primary responsibility of “advising the government on the criteria for appointment to public offices, promoting efficiency, accountability and integrity in public services, undertaking planning of the manpower requirements of public services and improving recruitment policies and techniques.”

According to President Akufo-Addo, the commission is thus an important national institution which demands that persons who are appointed in its very top echelons are those proven to be tried and tested.

With Professor Victor Kwame Agyeman as Chairperson, the commission also has, Dr. Agyeman Frimpong, Dr. Prince Edward Darah, Professor Kwame Boafo-Arthur, Mrs Paulina Adobea Dadzawa and Mrs Cynthia Asare Bediako as members.

Whilst affirming his confidence in the abilities of the new board, President Akufo-Addo said, “you must always be minded by the fact that your predecessors distinguished themselves creditably in this position, and I, and for that matter Ghanaians will expect nothing less than excellence on your part.”

Continuing, he said, “as members of the commission, it is my expectation that you will bring your expertise on board to support your chairperson to ensure that all of us, build a more resilient public service that provides efficient services for the Ghanaian people.”

“Again, as you assume these positions of trust, it is the belief that you will work diligently to help bring progress and prosperity to the Ghanaian people.”

In line with the provisions of Article 198 of the constitution, President Akufo-Addo assured them of the government’s support, saying, “You are not subject to the direction and control of any person or authority, in the performance of your function. The task ahead of you is a challenging one and it’s my hope that you will be up to it.”

“You have my full support and that of my government to undertake all the measures the reforms require to enable you to succeed. You’ve all been carefully chosen to serve on the board because of your expertise, knowledge and accomplishment. I wish you God’s guidance in your work and the best of luck,” he added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Bagbin Constitutes Nine-Member Committee To Probe UniBank, UT Bank Collapse

The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, has constituted a nine-member committee to…

Support Gov’t To Make Ghana A Mining Investment Hub – Samuel A. Jinapor

The Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Hon. Samuel A. Jinapor(MP) has…

We Will Make The World Know Allegations Levelled Against GES Not True- Bonaventure

Most Rev.John Bonaventure Kwofie, Catholic Metropolitan Archbishop of Accra has disclosed to…


Parliament of Ghana has today given an approval to Mr Ken Ofori-Atta…